Escape your social media comfort zone

Social media is big. It’s really really big. Check out this list of social networks on wikipedia if you don’t believe me. It’s not comprehensive either, I can think of at least one that’s not on the list (Gravity). How many of those sites are you visible on? For me it’s just a handful:


There are others where I have dormant accounts:


Lastly, there are also sites that I really need to work on:


YouTube may not be deemed social enough to get on the Wikipedia list but it’s really evolving into one of the main players. Traffic-wise it nestles in behind Facebook and is another great way to get your content in front of people. Social bookmarking sites have basically passed me by as I’ve never seen the need for them. I’m quite happy with my own bookmarks and sharing things as I see fit. I’m still not entirely convinced but I can’t deny it’s popularity. So I’m challenging myself. I’m going to step out of my comfort zone and do a vblog. Then I’m going to organise some delicious bookmarks. Where do you sit? Are you happy that you’ve got all the angles covered? If you’re taking this whole social media thing seriously then you really need to get the finger out. And by you, I mean me.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 thoughts on “Escape your social media comfort zone

  1. Hi Barry, good post and you’ve come to a similar conclusion to me about the sites that matter. I was just as ambivelant as you about social bookmarking but having signed up to delicious about 3 months ago I’ve actually found it a really useful tool where I can quickly save links from twitter, linkedin and facebook that I don’t have time to read right now.

    I also integrated it with my blog with a really easy to use widget. Good luck with vblog, it’s another one of those things that’s also on my to do list.

    1. Cheers James, still not sure exactly why I should be social bookmarking which is making it difficult to decide what to add. I’m thinking that it should be SM resources but I want it to be quite distinct from my blogroll.

  2. I enjoyed your post. It reiterated some things that I’ve been thinking in my head for some time now. My blog doesn’t really focus directly on social marketing, just internet/technology stuff in general.

    I had a question though. Your social bookmark buttons, or “share this” buttons are pretty. Mine, are not. Would you mind sharing where you got them/made them?

Leave a Reply

