Your social media, who’s it for?

Whenever you put something out there online. Whether that be a news article for your website, a blog post, a status update or whatever; stop and ask yourself this: who are you doing it for?

If the answer to that question is “me,” then take a break. Putting stuff out there just for you is kind of a waste of effort. I know that many people will disagree but in a business sense, it’s a mistake. Everything you publish has to be for your customers. If it doesn’t benefit them in some way then move on to something that does.

Everything I publish is intended to engage my audience. I think about every single word I say and when I say it. This results in comments here on my blog, replies in Twitter or Facebook and, if I’m really lucky, the odd email. Most of these engagements are small and peter out quickly but sometimes it leads to actual real life business taking place, and that’s my goal ultimately.

Now, if you’re not a self-fulfilling brand builder like me that doesn’t mean that the same rules don’t apply. Good content, for the right people, in the right place at the right time will result in those little moments of engagement that validate your online presence.

Indulgent content, for nobody, any-old-time doesn’t really sound quite as good does it?

Image credit: Takje

2 thoughts on “Your social media, who’s it for?

  1. Interesting points Barry. I’ve been thinking about this a lot recently, particularly with Twitter.

    I’ve developed a good network on Twitter and although my tweets might appear to some as ramblings, they are considered and I have engaged with individuals I would not have, had I ignored Twitter.

    I think that Twitter, like any channel, can offer results provided the broadcaster delivers consistent engaging messages to a targeted audience, the key word being ‘engaging’.

  2. …Ok, which post was it that you didn’t like? I know you’re talking to me right?! Just admit it, you’re trying to pick on that tiny little niggle at the back of my mind that asks the question “are you really posting this because your audience wants to read it?” – stop picking on me! lol 😉

    Truth is, we all post something sometimes that doesn’t interest everyone. I am as uninterested today in The World Cup as I was days ago when my stream became bombarded with “updates”. The importance, I believe, lies in the relationships you try to build. I will continue to follow the majority of those who love the World Cup as I understand this is an exciting time for football fans, but also because it helps me get to know them better as individuals. In return I hope they will indulge me every so often, with the view of getting to know me better as well.

Leave a Reply

