My social media tipping point

After a year of serious dedication to Twitter and 8 months of blogging at least twice a week I have racked up 3899 tweets and 76 blog posts.

I have 1276 followers (909 of whom I follow back) and have built up a reliable, knowledgable and friendly network by visiting events like #EdCM and #themeet140. I even have my own #smclinic which always draws a modest crowd.

I bang on about engagement and tone-of-voice. I pontificate about the best way to manage your relationship with followers and advocates. Sometimes I even tell you what I don’t think you should be doing.

I get comments, retweets and #ffs on a regular basis from people whose work I greatly respect. People’s whose opinions count in my line of business.

With all that said, I bet it’d surprise you to learn that I am only just, now, beginning to get business off the back of my social media presence. Before now I have relied on my previously existing network and channels. Now I get enquiries from people whose only contact with me has been online via this blog or my presence on Twitter or LinkedIn. They are comfortable approaching me because everywhere they check me out I am coming up trumps. Finally.

So what does that illustrate?

Well, not much other than the glaring fact that despite all the headlines, the glitz and the buzz, achieving success with social media doesn’t happen overnight. Unless you’re Old Spice and have a massive machine behind you, cranking the wheel, then you’re just relying on a slow build.

Networks don’t grow overnight. Every little extra piece you put into the jigsaw creates more interest, and after a while that does begin to take on a momentum of its own, but it’s no magic pill. If you are serious about harnessing the power of this stuff then you have to understand that you’ve got to stick at it. Work on it every day, think about it all the time. Eventually it’ll pay off.

Trust me. I’m a Social Media Consultant.

9 thoughts on “My social media tipping point

  1. Glad to hear you’re starting to reap the benefits Barry!

    I think this shows how social media fits into the bigger picture too. You say “everywhere they check me out I am coming up trumps”. I’d assume this goes the same for word of mouth, and also to a more static online presence. All these different elements go together to create confidence.

    This is more powerful than any sales pitch, and so it should be. This ‘whole package’ is something which is difficult to artificially create which in my eyes gives it true value. I belive that this is something that the likes of Google are encorporating more and more into their algorythm. Which leads onto something else I keep banging on about; the increasingly blurred lines between Social Media and SEO.

    Good post Barry!

    Geoff

  2. Thanks Geoff. Yes, it’s a package and it’s all driven from here. That’s why the blog is still THE most important tool in anyone’s armoury.

    Would love to hear more about your SEO/SM mashup thoughts. Another Socialpenguin guest post?

    1. I think although the blog is your centre point, I think this can vary in different situations. For a lot of brands it may be their main website with a blog acting as another feeder for this. I’d definitely agree that you need a platform to bring everything together though.

      There’s a lot of people saying this should be facebook, and a lot of brands moving there focus to here. I think this is a dangerous move and not one I agree with either. We’ve seen platforms come and go. Facebook changes daily and at essentially can do whatever it likes. By having a blog or website at the centre of your online presence you do not throw yourself at the mercy of someone else. You have the flexibility to move and adapt to changes and new developments.

      I think a blog post on SEO/SM mashup is definitely on the cards, I’m currently trying to work out where it’s going at the minute though! A lot of developments happening in this area at the minute.

  3. Hi Barry

    Another inspiring post, have gone through a very similar curve myself and have recently started to reap the benefits too. I’ve not been able to dedicate nearly enough time to blogging, networking and tweeting as your good self, but have benefited from word of mouth in my chosen sector (hotels and tourism).

    But it’s as clear to me (as it is to you) that you need to be open, honest and authentic in everything you do, even when that honesty could be intepreted as a weakness. What I’ve experienced is that the more you do this (social media) the more authority you have, based on real life actual results and not theory, and this is good for winning new business.

    We’ve never met but I freely recommend you when I’m approached by potential clients in sectors that I’m unfamiliar with, and the only reason for that is because of the way you’ve engaged with me via twitter and our respective blogs.

    Keep up the good work

    James

  4. Thanks James, humbled to hear that you’ve recommended me. That’s what it’s all about, building a trusted profile so that people can do just that without hesitation.

    Good point about honesty being interpreted as weakness at times. I often have to debate whether hitting send is actually the right option but 9 times out of 10 it is.

  5. The only comfort I can suggest is that your efforts are likely to be rewarded with better opportunities as there is real substance in what you have to offer.

Leave a Reply

